FullSizeRender
By Colleen

Because I filled my luggage with my winter clothes to unload in Iowa City, and I wanted to go gold and black for my presentation at University at Iowa, I did not have much too much else with me–two pairs of jeans, two sweaters, a grey t-shirt, black lace T-shirt, and a chambray button-up.
FullSizeRender-50

 

I had a meeting today, but an informal one so I decided I could follow Taneem’s lead and wear denim-on-denim. Dark trouser-cut jeans, the layered blouse effect, and the right accessories kept the look from becoming too casual.

I decided to push the look into a more literal theme (that’s my M.O. lately) by adopting a Southwestern style by wearing a large turquoise-colored stone statement necklace, and a headband with earth tones and mask-like designs.

 

(Yes, even with a chin length bob I can still fake a French twist!)

Specs: Chambray shirt (Old Navy); Jeans (JAG); black lace tee-shirt (Banana Republic); statement necklace (no idea); headband (a fair-trade store, maybe One World Goods in Rochester, NY? I’ve had it forever); booties (Doc Marten Jolene).

SOTD: Carven Le Parfum Eau de Parfum. A whisper of a perfume–light florals, hints of mandarin, ylang yang, and jasmine notes, so lovely and feminine.

Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 4.37.49 PM
Google Image search for “Canadian Tux” (Never forget Britney and Justin. Never forget)

Related listening: The Tragically Hip’s “Highway Girl” (Double-Suicide Rant live version):

“She likes to decorate her apartment in the Santa Fe tradition
I told her it was dated
But I’ve seen more of the world than she does…”

“… And I said to her, I said, ‘You know Colleen, no one stomps on a burning bag of shit anymore. Nobody!’

‘Are you really the messiah? ‘

‘Yes I am.’ “

