As Alex discussed last week, she always dresses up for voting…We invited readers to send us their sartorial civic expressions, and got pics from Missouri, Illinois, Ohio, and Massachusetts! Send us yours when your state votes! #sartorialscholars or tag us on Insta: @sartorialscholars or Twitter: @sartorialschols.

There seemed to be two major trends: 1) denim/chambray, which has an interesting history with being ‘American’ (more to come on that) 2) colors or patterns inspired by the U.S. flag: red, white, and blue, obviously, but also stripes. And of course, the real reason we vote: the voting sticker! [joking].

Presented with poster’s original comment on social media.

image
Alex: I went to see my mom in Indiana, so I voted early, but I wore my sticker on Tuesday! Rest stop selfie!
image
Sarah & Steve: Too cool for school, but not for voting
image
Tiffany: Me posing most inspirationally to show that Jareth, the Goblin King, and I voted yesterday!

 

image
Michael: now we wait
image
Branden: My voting outfit for today! Channeling the look of a maturing Lydia Deetz in her senior year as an undergrad.
image
J. Brendan: Early voting selfie
image
Katrina: Few things can get me out of bed in a timely fashion these days, but exercising my civic duty is definitely one of them! [she got compliments on her outfit at her polling place!]
image
Claire: Inspired by @sartorialscholars –> red, white, and blue for exercising voting rights!
12795191_10153972959132008_4470370718299643743_o
Jackie: [Did I dress]*Up*, no. Thematically, yes! This isn’t a day-of picture, but this is more or less what I wore. Midwest is Best.
Anne_Voting
Anne & Izzy: Bruce Springsteen on the radio, special voting costume on! #thisiswhatdemocracylooklike

 

 

