Student Conferences. Never ending. It feels like a whole day of playing playing Good Cop, Bad Cop (or Bad Cop, Bad Cop?), I decided to dress like the friendliest guy ever for #MenswearMonday: Mr. Rogers. The late great Mr. Rogers would have celebrated his birthday yesterday (3/20), and so I threw on a bright yellow cardigan over my shirt and tie.*

Would you be mine? Could you be mine? Won’t you be my neighbor?
IMG_5150
Would you be mine? Could you be mine? won’t you be my neighbor?

specs: yellow cardigan (Banana Republic); light chambray shirt (Old Navy); polka dot tie (Dockers); chevron tweed denim trousers (GAP); yellow and grey argyle socks (Target? I don’t know. I’ve had them forever); handmade Italian suede shoes (bought on clearance in a boutique in London); black raincoat (Banana Republic); black headband (Target?); red lip: Loreal color riche in British Red).

FullSizeRender
By Colleen

 

o-mr-dressup-facebook1
Mr. Dressup, Casey, & Finnegan

#Facttalk: Because I grew up in Niagara Falls on the Canadian border, I grew up watching a lot of Canadian children’s television (and this is a highly abbreviated but fairly representative list):

 

  • Fred Penner’s Place (a guy so Canadian that he had a beard and guitar, and hung out with beavers);
  • Degrassi (the OG versions: The Kids of Degrassi Street, Degrassi Jr. High, and Degrassi High, before Drake, with punk rock pregnant Canadian teens);
  • The Littlest Hobo (about a German shepherd who hopped trains and befriended people who needed help, and then continued on down the QEW again);
  • mr-dressup
    Tickle Trunk time!

    and Mr. Dressup, which had a lot in common with Mr. Rogers, but was bizarre in its own ways. Mr. Dressup hung out with two puppets–Finnegan the dog, and Casey, who may have been a child?–and he had a Tickle Trunk filled with costumes so he could dress up as anything. As I teach drama classes, I keep my own Tickle Trunk, but I have had to explain that it isn’t a bad thing and it’s just my prop box (boring American way of saying that).

 

 

  • * We’re still looking for scholars to share their favorite yellow cardigan and sweaters! Share with us via email: sartorial scholars@gmail.com, on Instagram at sartorial scholars (#archivalyellow), and/or on Twitter (@sartorialschols #archivalyellow)

 

 

